The Example and Normal Databases

Ketura uses an example database when it is first installed. This database is useful for exploring Ketura and working through the tutorials. It illustrates various Ketura concepts applied to a fictional firm, XYZ, Inc. To remind you that the example database is being used, the system title in the top-left of every Ketura page is prefixed with the words Example Database.

A normal database is also created when you install Ketura. This database is intended for you to use for managing your own projects.

Switching between the example and normal databases

At any given time, Ketura can use either the example database or the normal database. You can switch between the two at will.

To switch between the example and normal databases:
  • Click the global System tab in the banner at the top of a Ketura page. This will take you to the Administration areas page.
  • Choose the Administration areas tab within the page, if it is not already selected.
  • Click the Backup, Restore, Switch or Reinitialize the Database link.
  • Choose the Switch between normal/example databases tab, if it is not already selected.
  • Select Normal or Example, as desired, from the Ketura is currently using the database drop-down.
  • Click the Apply button.

Information All users will be logged off the system when you switch databases. User accounts in the example and normal databases are completely separate. Only users with an account in the database that Ketura is currently using will be able to log on.

No data in your databases is lost when you switch between the normal and example databases.

Reinitializing the example or normal databases

If you wish to reset your example or normal database back to its default state, as if Ketura had just been installed for the first time, you can do so using the Reinitialize database tab, which is on the same page as the Switch between normal/example databases tab described above.

Warning Reinitializing a database permanently wipes-out all the data it contains. Be sure to read and understand the Explain >> help on the Reinitialize database tab before reinitializing a database.