Manage Database Page

Ketura stores all of its information in a database. It is essential that this database is backed-up regularly, to ensure that you will be able to recover your data in the event of, for example, a hard disk failure or the inadvertent deletion of important information.

By default, Ketura automatically performs a backup of its database every day. This page enables you to configure when and where Ketura performs such backups, and to initiate a backup manually. You can also restore a Ketura database from from a backup, switch between the Normal and Example databases and reinitialize the database using this page.

Backup database

This tab shows settings for automatic database backup, and also enables you to initiate a backup manually. For background information on the backing-up the Ketura database, see Backing Up a Ketura System.

Daily backups and one-off backups are performed whilst the system is running, although it is strongly suggested that users should not attempt to use the system while a backup is in progress. For this reason, backups should usually be scheduled outside of office hours (for example, early in the morning).

To turn the daily backup on or off:
  • Check or uncheck the Backup database checkbox, then click the Apply button.
To change the time at which the daily backup starts:
  • Select a time in the every day at drop-down, then click the Apply button.
To change the location where the backups should be saved:
  • Change the path field to the directory where the backups should be stored, then click the Apply button.
To change the number of previous backups to be kept:
  • Change the Keep the previous field to the number of recent backups that should be kept, then click the Apply button. Only the last x number of recent backups will be kept, older backups will be deleted.
To apply changes:
  • Click the Apply button.
To perform a backup:
  • Click the Backup Now button.
To abandon changes before you have applied them:
  • Click the Reset button. The fields will be restored to their previous values.

Restore database

This tab shows the most recent backups. For background information on restoring a Ketura database, see Restoring a Ketura System from a Backup.

Warning Restoring from a backup will completely replace the data in your Ketura system. You will lose all changes made after the backup was made.

Warning Restoring from a backup can take a significant amount of time, and no one will be able to use the system until the restore has been successfully completed.

To restore a backup:
  • Click the Restore from radio button and enter the full path to the backup file (this must be accessible from the Ketura server), then click the Restore Database… button.
  • Or, select from the table a backup in the Ketura backup directory by clicking the appropriate radio button, then click the Restore Database… button.
  • Once the restore is complete, you may be asked to log on again.
To abandon changes before you have applied them:
  • Click the Reset button. The fields will be restored to their previous values.

What happens if a restore fails?

Before commencing a restore, Ketura performs some initial integrity checks on the backup from which you are restoring. If these detect a problem, Ketura will inform you, and Ketura will not attempt to proceed with the restore. Your existing Ketura database will be intact.

If a problem occurs after Ketura has started a restore, Ketura will inform you. In this case, however, Ketura will be left in an indeterminate state, because the restore failed part-way through. Ketura will therefore indicate to you that you need to re-install Ketura and restore from a backup that you know to be intact.

Description of table columns

Selection A radio button that, when checked, selects the backup.
Restore From The full path to the backup file.
Date Created The date and time the backup was created.

Switch database

Ketura stores all its information in a database. This tab shows whether Ketura is currently using the normal or the example database, and enables you to switch between the two.

  • the normal database is the database that you should use for managing your own projects;
  • the example database is intended to help you become familiar with Ketura, in conjunction with the tutorials.

When you install a new Ketura system, it starts off using the example database, so that you can explore the system and work through the tutorials. The system’s title, shown at the top right of every page, always reminds you when you are using the example database.

Once you are ready to start managing your own projects, you should switch to the normal database. If you subsequently wish, you can temporarily switch back to the example database to experiment, switching back to the normal database when you are ready to work on your own projects again.

Note that switching databases will log all users off the system. Once you have switched, any user who logs on will see the newly current database. To avoid confusion, it is usually helpful to warn people of the switch before undertaking it.

To switch databases:
  • Select a database from the drop-down, then click the Apply button.
  • Once the switch is complete, you may be asked to log on again.

Reinitialize database

Use this tab to set the currently selected database back to its original, default state. This can be particularly useful, for example, if you have made changes to the example database and wish to reset it back to its original state so that you can work through the tutorials.

Warning When you reinitialize a database, all current information in the database (issues, projects, milestones, users, contacts, system configuration, etc) will be irrevocably deleted. It is therefore advisable to perform a backup of the current database beforehand.

Reinitializing the database will log all existing users off the system and wipe their accounts. An ‘admin’ account will be created in the new database, having the same password as the main administrator account in the existing database.

To reinitialize the database:

  • Take a backup of your existing database.
  • Make sure that you know the password of the main administrator account (typically the account with the user id ‘admin’) in your existing database.
  • Click the Reinitialize Database.
  • On the page that appears, confirm that you wish to reinitialize the database.
  • Once the reinitialization has completed, you might need to log in again. Log in with the user id ‘admin’, and the password of the administrator account of the database that you have just reinitialized.